I couldn’t quite cross The Bridge…

The BridgeThe Bridge by Jane Higgins

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The Bridge was an interesting book which left me a little empty at the end. I was surprised by this because it had all the right ingredients for me to absolutely love it. A war pitting one one side of a bridge against another. A secretive organisation that selects and trains the best minds to keep the “hostiles” on their side of the bridge. A central character with a mysterious past who is rejected by that organisation, despite his obvious potential. I don’t know precisely what went wrong for me reading this novel, but it felt cold. Perhaps that is what Higgins was shooting for, perhaps it was because I was reading it as an ebook on my iPad for the first time. I feel like I am shortchanging the book because I never really engaged with it. It is possible that a second reading would serve me better, so I won’t write much more here now. I really hope I can read it again at some stage and post a more illuminating and helpful review. Sorry this one is such a dud, but I have to call ’em as I see ’em at this moment!
Would suit ages 12 and up.

Leave a Reply

